Our structure

The AEU is a democratic organisation governed by a constitution and registered under the Fair Work (Registered Organisations) Act. At every level - the workplace, the region, and the Territory as a whole - we have structures to ensure that our union is guided by the collective voice of our members.


Members in each workplace form a sub-branch. Sub-branches elect annually the offices of president/sub-branch representative and depending on membership numbers, also a vice-president and secretary. Decisions and recommendations are forwarded to regional councils or the AEU NT Executive for further action if needed.

Regional councils

Regional councils exist in each of the six NT regions: Darwin, Palmerston & Rural, Alice Springs, Barkly, Katherine and Arnhem. Each regional council elects a president, vice president and secretary at an AGM held in March or April. Regional councils meet between four and eight times a year and all members in the region are eligible to attend. Decisions made by regional councils are forwarded to AEU NT Executive for further action.

Branch Executive

The Executive is a wholly elected body which oversees the operations of the Branch. Executive comprises two full-time officers – the President and the Secretary – and a number of volunteer positions: two Vice-Presidents (TAFE and General division), Treasurer, Women’s Officer, Indigenous Councillor and 11 Executive Councillors from the six NT regions. All Executive positions are elected by the membership, with elections conducted by the Australian Electoral Commission. The composition of Executive ensures that all regions, sectors and stages of education in the NT have a forum to raise issues and concerns.

Representative terms

The term of office for all Executive members is two years, except the Branch Secretary, whose term is three years. Executive meets at least six times per year and holds extra meetings via teleconference when and if necessary. Executive authorises most expenditure such as campaigning and legal expenses for members. Executive is also the body which in certain circumstances can authorise AEU members to participate in protected industrial action such as strikes and work bans.

Branch Conference

Usually held in May each year, the Branch Conference is the principal forum for making and ratifying key policies and priorities of the Branch for the year ahead. Conference is the only forum that can modify the rules of the Branch. Each sub-branch is entitled to send at least one delegate to Conference, with all costs covered by the union.

Branch Conference

Register now for 2018 Branch Conference

Saturday 5 - Sunday 6 May, Hilton Double Tree, Darwin

Registrations are now open for this year's Branch Conference. Each sub-branch is entitled to send at least one delegate, and can put forward proposals for discussion on the floor of the conference. 

The deadline for submitting registrations and motions and other business for Conference is Friday 23 March, so please make sure you return the paperwork on time. Registration forms and more information are available in the resources section on the right.

Join the Australian Education Union

The Australian Education Union represents and advocates for all teaching staff in public education, as well as many support workers.

Map of Australian Education Union NT

© 2015 Australian Education Union Northern Territory

Website created by Dash Media Darwin.