Posted on 06 May, 2016 in News, Professional Issues

Nominations sought for AEU representatives on the TRB

Nominations sought for AEU representatives on the TRB

Nominations are sought from two AEU members to become representatives on the Teacher Registration Board.

The AEU NT Branch is entitled to nominate two representatives to the Teacher Registration Board – one of whom must be a teacher in a remote school.

The term of office of our remote representative ends soon. Our other candidate will resign from the Board shortly. Therefore the AEU is seeking expressions of interest from members in urban, regional and remote settings who wish to be considered for nomination to the Board.

This is an important responsibility that ensures the AEU and its members have input into the development of teacher accreditation and standards in the NT.

The Board meets at least three times a year and generally more often, both face-to-face and by teleconference.

Board members serve a four-year term and are expected to participate fully and independently in all aspects of the Board’s work, which includes complaints against registered teachers.

We would also expect AEU-nominated Board members to report to the union’s full-time officers and Branch Executive from time to time on relevant matters.

For more information or to submit an expression of interest, please contact the Branch Secretary, Anita Jonsberg, on 08 8948 5399 or [email protected]. Expressions of interest should be accompanied by a short summary (no more than one A4 page) of any relevant experience and expertise.

EOIs must be received no later than Friday 20 May.

Subscribe to our mailing list

Get the latest updates from our newsroom delivered to your inbox. It's spam free, and you can unsubscribe at any time.

Join the Australian Education Union

The Australian Education Union represents and advocates for all teaching staff in public education, as well as many support workers.

Office hours

Monday - Friday: 8:30am to 4:30pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed
Public holidays: Closed

© Authorised by Rachael Metcalfe, Branch Secretary, Australian Education Union Northern Territory Branch, Darwin (2023)

Union Web Design by Dash