Securing a voice for teachers and educators

The AEU isn't just an industrial body. We ensure that teachers and educators are heard on the professional issues affecting members at work, through our involvement and representation at a territory and federal level in a range of organisations.

Teacher Registration Board

All teachers working in the Northern Territory must be registered with the Teacher Registration Board. The AEU has two nominees on the Board, ensuring teacher representation in Board deliberations on matters such as professional standard and conduct and registration requirements.

AEU  officers meet and discuss issues regularly with the Director of the Board and TRB staff to address any registration-related concerns affecting our members.

Additionally, in some circumstances the AEU is able to provide support to members who are the subject of disciplinary and conduct investigations carried out by the TRB, which has the power to revoke, or impose restrictions on, a teacher's registration. We can also assist where a member is having difficulty in having their registration recognised, renewed or transferred.

NT Board of Studies

The Board of Studies is established under the NT Education Act to develop, and deliver advice on, curriculum, assessment, reporting and certification for all students in the Northern Territory from Preschool to Year 12.

The Board consists of 11 members from a range of organisations and backgrounds. Politically-motivated changes to the Education Act in 2015 mean the AEU is now denied a seat on the Board of Studies, something we have been lobbying to rectify. A recent agreement reached between the union and the Board means we will now be better informed about Board processes.

The AEU continues to be a strong advocate on all matters relating to curriculum and assessment, both in the Territory and nationally, where we have been the major critic of the standardised testing agenda driven by ACARA.

Join the Australian Education Union

The Australian Education Union represents and advocates for all teaching staff in public education, as well as many support workers.

© Authorised by Rachael Metcalfe, Branch Secretary, Australian Education Union Northern Territory Branch, Darwin (2023)

Union Web Design by Dash